Board of Commissioners

The newly reconstituted National Commission on Science and Technology Board of Commissioners took effect in 2014.

The board consists of 28 members from higher education institutions, private and public sectors and their agencies.

The Commission is chaired by the Most Honourable Portia Simpson Miller, Prime Minister and the deputy chairman is with principal responsibility  for science and technology the Honourable Phillip Paulwell, Minister of Science, Technology, Energy & Mining.


  Members of the Board – National Commission on Science and Technology
Most Honourable PM Andrew Holness (Chairman)
Prime Minister
Office of the Prime Minister
Hon. Minister Daryl Vaz
(Vice Chairman)
Minister of Science, Energy and Technology
Mr. Michael Gordon
Chief Innovation Officer/ Strategic Director
University of the Commonwealth Caribbean 
Mr. Christopher Brown
General Manager , Strategic Services
Development Bank of Jamaica
Dr. Marlene Street Forrest
Managing Director 
Jamaica Stock Exchange
Dr. Stephen Rhoden
Associate Vice President, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Technology
Caribbean Maritime University
Ms. Claire Bernard
Deputy Director General 
Planning Institute of Jamaica
Mr. Demicke Bennett
Representative of the JMEA
Dr. Charah Watson
Executive Director
Scientific Research Council
Dr. Craig Barham
Senior Director, Planning and Evaluation
Ministry of Tourism
Dr. Aston Spencer
Acting Director
Dr. Roy McNeil
Chief Food Storage Officer
Ministry of Industry, Investment and Commerce
Mr. Junior Bennett
Lecturer, Faculty of Engineering and Computing
University of Technology, Jamaica
Dr. Naydene Williams
Director, Health Services Planning and Integration 
Ministry of Health and Wellness
Mr. Anthony Smith 
Representative of PSOJ
Hon. Robert Levy, OJ, CD
Jamaica Broilers Group
Ms. Bethune Morgan
Manager, Pollution Prevention
National Environment and Planning Agency
Ms. Winnie Berry
Deputy Chief Education Officer
Ministry of Education, Youth and Information
Dr. Kamilah Hylton
Dean, Faculty of Science and Sports
University of Technology, Jamaica
Mrs. Colette Roberts Risden
Permanent Secretary
Ministry of Labour and Social Security
Dr. Dameon Black
Jamaica Tertiary Education Commission
Mr. Desmond Campbell                                Principal Lecturer
Moneague College
Prof. Lincoln P. Edwards
Northern Caribbean University